Thurcaston & Cropston Parish Council

Memorial Hall, Anstey Lane, Thurcaston. LE7 7JA. Tel.: 0116 2367626 Email: clerk@thurcastonandcropston.org.uk

Minutes of the Open Spaces Committee meeting held on Friday 3rd December 2021 at 9.30am in the Memorial Hall, Anstey Lane, Thurcaston.

Present: Chair Cllr Sue Graham, Cllr Michael Jackson & Cllr Sylvia Cole Also Present: Clerk, Marianne Lane

- 1. **Apologies –** To receive apologies for absence and to consider whether to approve reasons given . **Apologies received from Neil Pilcher, Cllr Green and J. Torrance. Accepted.**
- 2. **Declarations of Interest -** To receive Declarations of Interest both pecuniary and non-pecuniary on agenda items. **None**
- 3. To approve minutes of 3rd September 2021 meeting. **Resolved to approve as a true record.**
- 4. **Public Participation** 15 minutes set a side for residents to raise issues on this agenda or raise issues for future consideration. *No public present*
- 5. **Mill Race Bridge –** Committee to propose to Parish Council removal of Tree and silt from the pond and apply for Exemption certificate from Environment Agency. Risk assessments need to be carried out and work needs to be undertaken in winter before newt breeding season if newts are found to be present.
- 6. **Jubilee Park –** Permission has been granted from Charnwood Borough Council to go ahead with proposals put forward for biodiversity project. Proposed Design needs to be submitted for Parish Council to approve. Cllr Sylvia Cole suggested possible involvement of children at Richard Hill School.
- 7. **Wildflower Grass Verges** Leicestershire County Council approved 3 locations for Wildflower grass verges within the villages. Agreed to put proposal forward to Parish Council for just one verge at present time. Residents living near to the verge to be consulted and proof of approval by them to be submitted to LCC to allow PC to move forward with scheme.
- **8. To agree date and time of next OS committee meeting –** agreed to be held on Friday March 4th 2022 at 9.30am in Memorial Hall.

Meeting closed at 10.45am

Chairman	Date